Stone Mountain: Stay Woke.

Stone Mountain.

13178663_10154350189544728_1611592319581532211_n

President Davis, when you said, “You cannot transform the negro into anything one-tenth as useful or as good as what slavery enables them to be”, did you imagine the possibility of an educated, free, colored woman in your city, caressing your stone-cold face? 
Looks like I’m more than one tenth useful.

When I first came to Atlanta, everyone told me I had to hike up Stone Mountain. I didn’t realize that the “heroes” carved in the stone were “heroes” of a past which still haunts the country today. “Heroes” not of liberty and justice, but of slavery and supremacy. “Heroes” from whom the KKK get their vision and courage. “Heroes”, who really are not heroes.

Places like this and moments like these remind me that I must not become bitter. I must not writhe in discomfort and anger but move towards consciousness and resistance. I’ve noticed that people have a tendency to gloss over the past, forget the depth of pain and suffering and subconsciously or maybe consciously create an alternative narrative. Some people say that the Civil War was not about slavery, but about money. They forget, oh so importantly, that it was black bodies which were the currency. 

Now, each time I go to Stone Mountain, I always stop, take a minute and look up at their faces. I see Stonewall Jackson, Robert E. Lee, and Jefferson Davis. But I think of Harriet Tubman, Sojourner Truth, Abraham Lincoln, Martin Luther King, Trayvon Martin, Eric Garner, Michael Brown, Tamir Rice, Sandra Bland, and so many others. 

Oh, President Davis, when you said, “You cannot transform the negro into anything one-tenth as useful or as good as what slavery enables them to be”, did you imagine the possibility of an educated, free, colored woman in your city, caressing your stone-cold face? 

Looks like I’m more than one tenth useful. 

Stay Woke, my friends.

 

One thought on “Stone Mountain: Stay Woke.

  1. Hi Chellamagal,
    Blasting mountains! Wealth of nations.
    Your post flashed light on my dim memory of Jer1 :10.
    Shine your light and let the world come to Light.
    Congratulations on opening a new
    Blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

